The Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation (MVAIC) was created
to pay benefits to automobile crash victims, pedestrians, or cyclists
who were injured by an uninsured vehicle.
MVIAC provides both no-fault benefits up to $50,000.00, as well as the
available coverage for up to $25,000.00 per person injured in a crash.
Filing a claim through MVAIC is a method to make a recovery if you are
involved in a crash and neither you, nor anyone in your household owned
a vehicle at the time. MVAIC also applies if coverage is denied or disclaimed,
the accident was a hit and run, it involved a stolen vehicle, or the owner
did not give driver permission to use the car (denial of permissive use).
The requirements for MVAIC benefits are:
You were involved in a motor vehicle crash in New York.
You were a resident of New York when the crash occurred. Under special
circumstances, residents of other states may be eligible for MVAIC benefits.
If you were not a resident of New York when the accident occurred, and
you have questions pertaining to eligibility, please contact MVAIC by
phone at (646)205-7800, or via email at
You have no other automobile insurance available to you. If you or any
of your household relatives own an insured motor vehicle, you will be
required to file a claim with that insurance company to see if you are
covered under that policy for benefits.
You were NOT the owner of the uninsured vehicle that was involved in the crash.
You were NOT the spouse of the owner of the uninsured vehicle, or a passenger
in that uninsured vehicle.
Additionally, there are time frame requirements that must be adhered to.
If these timeframes are not met, your eligibility could be affected...
The motor vehicle accident must be reported to the Police (Peace Officer)
within 24 hours of the accident occurring.
Notice of Intention (NOI) is submitted to MVAIC within 90 days of the accident, if the accident
was with a Hit & Run or unidentified motor vehicle.
Notice of Intention (NOI) is submitted to MVAIC within 180 days of the accident, if the accident
was with an identified motor vehicle.
MVAIC may require you to provide a Bicycle Crash Claim form, in addition
to the Notice of Intention claim forms
The requirements above are set forth in
Article 52 of the New York Insurance Law.
It is imperative that you Report the Accident within 24 hours, or as soon
as reasonably possible, or you may not be able to make an MVIAC claim,
especially if it is a "hit and run" accident.
If you need to make a MVAIC claim, we would highly suggest contacting a
lawyer, as the rules involved in the claims process are highly technical
and you need court approval to start a lawsuit against MVIAC.